A day in the hospital

Photo: Anthony Moretti, 3June 2016

My wife had minor surgery today. Spending eight hours in a hospital can serve as a great reminder of what’s important.

My impatient nature required me to walk the hallways; there was no way that I could sit in whatever waiting room I was supposed to and wait for the surgeon to do what he had to do. (Yes that also means I didn’t bring a laptop with me; that item could have killed plenty of time!)

As I moved from the waiting room to the cafe to the nearby gift shop to wherever else I roamed, I inevitably came across a man or woman being rolled to or from an operating room, or a family member or friend waiting to hear how their loved one was doing.

Some of those patients had obvious pain on their faces. Many of them were seniors; whether it was empathy or sympathy, I felt for them. No one is guaranteed to reach old age, but getting there often means some significant health issue. I secretly thanked the good Lord above that I wasn’t in the bed they found themselves in.

If you are visiting someone who is in the hospital and who has welcomed a baby into the world, happiness radiates across your face. Similarly, if you are there to see someone who is not in great health, concern easily can be spotted. I saw a lot of people with concern. At one point, I walked past a woman with tears streaming down her face as she spoke on her cellphone. I secretly thanked the good Lord above that I wasn’t making or receiving that phone call.

A couple friends of mine are dealing with significant personal issues this week. While neither of them is in the hospital, I found myself thinking of them, as I saw the worries evident on the faces of people I didn’t know.

Yes, a few hours seeing pain and fear can be a reminder that the disappointments you are dealing with are simply not as bad as you might make them out to be.

This entry was posted in health care, health issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

