He raped her. Now, they are writing a book about what happened after they reconnected.

Photo: Anthony Moretti 2Oct2016

Photo: Anthony Moretti 2Oct2016

This story from the Irish Independent will be difficult for some to read, but I think important for everyone to read.

“It took me years to realise that only one thing could have stopped me from being raped that night, and it wasn’t my skirt, it wasn’t my smile, it wasn’t my childish trust. The only thing that could’ve stopped me from being raped that night is the man who raped me — had he stopped himself.”

Nine years after the incident, Thordis penned Tom a letter about that night and the effect her assault had on her life to which he responded.

The TEDTalk the two delivered is even more powerful than the newspaper story.

This entry was posted in sexual misconduct, women. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

