“The Russians are not our friends”

Photo: Anthony Moretti

Photo: Anthony Moretti

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY) announced today that he fully supports a Congressional inquiry into claims of Russian hacking and how it might have influenced the U.S. presidential election. The Weekly Standard examines what he said.

“Obviously any foreign breach of our cybersecurity measures is disturbing, and I strongly condemn any such efforts,” McConnell told reporters Monday.

Congressional momentum has been building for a review of allegations that Russia conducted a series of cyberattacks to influence the presidential election results. McConnell said it was necessary to put partisanship aside in relation to such a review.

I am not quibbling with Sen. McConnell’s point, but I do think Americans need to remember that any dislike of the Russian government and its activities should NOT mean we take a dim view of the Russian people.

Sure, I’m biased here; I admit I have friends who work at Moscow State University, and I value the personal relationships I’ve built with them over the years. I steadfastly refuse to suggest that they are not “our friends.”

I hope you feel the same way about the Russian people; an overwhelming percentage of whom have no influence over what the Kremlin does.

This entry was posted in Mitch McConnell, Russia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Russians are not our friends”

  1. Pingback: Spare me the wailing and gnashing of teeth about the Russians and our election, unless… | START THINKING, STOP FEELING

Leave a Reply

